mmmm….carbs (aka ‘Boys for Pele’ may be the best album ever made)

20 bucks in my checking account and I have no milk in the fridge. Or more importantly, half and half. So I went to lovely Gomarlo’s with no list and bought a bunch of shit. I had seen a recipe in my Rachel CrazyRay cookbook so I kinda had an idea what I was going for. BTW, if you’re from the Keene area, Gomarlo’s has a fabu wine selection. All local. It’s very cool. Oh, and they sell Boone’s Farm Blue Hawaiian. If you come to my house with a bottle of that, you would be the bomb.

So I failed miserabley at what I needed for this recipe, so I, feeling awfully domestic today, made up my own recipe with shit I had, which I will share with you:

Jen’s Cowboy Chop Suey

salt
fresh ground pepper
extra virgin olive oil, once around th pan (about a tablespoon if you care)
box of Rigatoni (or any short cut pasta, but I like Rigatoni a lot)
1 lb ground chuck
4 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped (or 2 smalls, which is what I had)
1 green pepper, chopped fine
2 slices roasted red pepper in oil (rinse if you want, but I like the spicy oil. If you don’t have any, you can leave this out or use fresh but they’re sweet and spicy and nice), chopped
1 tsp roasted red pepper flakes (eyeball, I like more)
1 tsp Chili powder (eyeball but be careful, damn it)
14 oz can crushed tomatos
8 oz regular barbecue sauce (I kind of just pooped half a bottle in)
CHEESE of some kind, to sprinkle on top. I had mozzerella. If you had a sharper cheese, it would be better.

Boil a big pot of water and salt it good (don’t ever ever put oil in your pasta water, the sauce won’t stick). Cook the pasta until it still has some bite to it. Make sure to stir the rigatoni ever so often…they’re heavy and sink. Drain the pasta and put it aside.

Heat a large skillet and add the oil. Throw in the meat and break it up with a wooden spoon while it cooks. When the meat is brown, you could be a pussy and drain the meat or you could just eat it like a human being and add the garlic, onions, roasted red pepper, green pepper and red pepper flakes. Mix it together and season with salt and pepper. Go easy on the salt, you’ll be adding stuff with salt later and you don’t want it to be salty as hell. Let the meat and veg hang out, stirring occasionally for about five minutes. Add the crushed tomatos and the barbecue sauce and stir. Taste it and add more salt and pepper, if you need it. Add the rigatoni and toss. Or add the sauce to the rigatoni and toss. Whatever you feel like. There are no rules here. When it’s all coated, ladle it into a bowl, top with the cheese and eat, motherfucker.

BTW, Little Amsterdam is a good song.

BTW, I am the worst mother in the world. I accidently shut Arlo in my utility closet this morning for the whole day. Ack.

BTW, tomorrow’s Friday.

BTW, I love you all.

Leave a Reply

